If I could, I would sit beside you on a red futon mat.

lunapic_136254556659032_2

If I could, I would sit beside you on a red futon mat.

I could say that I want to talk endlessly but all I really want is to hear you sing.

I would hear your raw, raspy voice pulled beneath the caves and thrown up high to Mt. Everest.

If I could, I would let you sing for me alone.

I would sit on a single high stool and you would stand in front of me fidgeting with a button on your shirt and letting out that gem of a voice.

Because it’s cruel, shallow and selfish, I’d rather have you sit beside me, lean back and close your eyes.

Yet even that is not selfless.

If I could, I would take your hand, grip it tightly and never let you go.

Because it’s creepy and could give you hernia, I’d rather have you squeeze my right hand for a second with a smile in your eyes.

If I could, I would want to travel with you.

We’d go to Seoul, Taipei, Bangkok, Tokyo, Paris, Vienna and New York.

Because I don’t have a visa,I lack highly in funds and impossible, I’d rather wish you see the world and cheer with your friends.

If I could, I would sit beside you in a park from a dream where red old leaves fall on soft green grass and we’d have nothing but comfort food and comfort silence.

We’ll have sashimi, ramen, soba, cheeseburgers, fries and coolers.

Because it’s a shoot in the dark, an impossibility and a dream, I’d rather wish I was in the crowd swaying to your music and hoping you’ll feel loved.

If I could, I would bring you to my hometown, show you our wooden beach front and we’d pick shells when tide comes low.

Because I’m a stranger and I don’t know how to pick shells, I’d rather wish you see your own hometown and hug your family the tightest.

If I could, I would take your hand and have you look at me like you never would with anybody else.

Because a million more dreamed of this and you can choose from million better more, I’d rather wish to see your wide, unapologetic, brilliant grin with sure and pure joy from someone you freely choose.

If I could, I would make you mine.

Because it’s never mine to decide, I’d rather let you choose.

If I could, I would sit beside you on a red futon mat but I’d rather not.

Leave a Reply

